Mini Fruit Pizzas for a friend…

Recently my friend Ashley was hosting a bridal shower for her friend at her house.  At the beginning of the summer at a barbeque she was hosting, the bride-to-be was there and tried some of my mini fruit pizzas.  Both her and her fiance loved them so Ashley requested that I make some for the bridal shower.

I have been making different variations of fruit pizzas for many years and love trying new variations.  This is the recipe for my classic fruit pizzas.

bitten

Fruit Pizzas with Lime Cream Cheese Spread

    • Sugar Cookie Dough – You can use your favorite recipe or store-bought.  This is the recipe I used.
    • 1 – 8 oz. block of cream cheese, softened (I used reduced fat but I wouldn’t recommend fat-free)
    • 1/3 cup sugar
    • zest and juice of 1 lime
    • Assortment of fruit (I used sliced strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, & kiwi)
    • White chocolate (optional)
    Start by rolling out you cookie dough.  You can do this one of two ways, roll and cut the cookies to make individual pizzas or roll out a large circle to make a large, more traditional looking pizza.  Bake according to the recipe or package directions then allow them to cool.

    Since these were for a bridal shower, I made mini pizzas to make them easier to eat and serve.  Also I wanted to make them even cuter so I used a heart-shaped cookie cutter.

    Once you have finished baking the cookies and eating all of the cookies that got a little too brown for breakfast you can start on your spread.

    For the spread, mix the softened cream cheese with the sugar and the lime zest and juice.  You may need to use two limes for the juice but mine was very juicy!  You can also experiment with lemon or orange in the spread but I love the lime.
    Now we’re ready to assemble.  Start by spreading the cream cheese mixture on the cookies then arranging the fruit on each cookie.  You can use any mix of fruit that you like but I especially like the berries.  I also like pineapple with this mixture.
    To make the fruit pizzas ultra-fabulous, you can drizzle them with a little melted white chocolate.  Sadly, my white chocolate was just not cooperating with me that day.

    I hope you enjoy the pizzas and try not to eat too many!

    Hallie
    October 7, 2011. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

